How did Gyeongsang Province get its name?

published by Devon Furbush
Daegu is located in the Gyeongsang Province, the eastern region of the Korean peninsula. More than 700 years ago the area was referred to as Yeongnam, meaning the ‘south of the pass.’ It got this name because of its location being south of the Joryeong Pass. This road played a vital role in traffic through the Sobaek Mountain Range. Both the Gyeongsang buk-do (buk’ means north) province and Daegu city took up the northern area of Yeongnam. Dating back to 1314, the Gyeongsang Province got its name by combining the first syllables of the two biggest towns at the time: Gyeongju and Sangju.
The establishment of the Gyeongsang government office overseeing the whole province in 1601 gave Daegu a fundamental role of administration. Fast forward almost 300 years later in 1896, the province became separated into two halves: Gyeongsang buk-do (north) and Gyeongsang nam-do (south).
Over time, Daegu grew into a metropolitan region and in 1981 it separated from the province into its own independent city. Similar to Washington, DC in the USA.

Address: 321 Cheongho-ro, Hwanggeum-dong, Suseong-gu, Daegu
(Do it in Yeongju #1) Sosu Seowon Confucian Academy
General of the Red Robe that Descended from Heaven

No replies

Email again: